Friday, 10 January 2014

Yaya Toure is CAF African Player of the Year 2013

Yaya Toure is CAF African Player of the Year 2013
Manchester City's Yaya Toure has been named the African Player of the Year 2013 by the Confederation of African Football at an awards ceremony held in Lagos on Thursday evening.

The Ivoirian won the title for a third straight time beating off competition from compatriot Didier Drogba and local favourite John Obi Mikel to the title.

In a ceremony dominated by Nigeria who swept the Coach of the Year and Team of the Year awards, many had expected Chelsea's Mikel to win the top gong on the back of the Super Eagles' victory at the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations.

However, it was the Ivoirian Toure who was called up to the podium again, walking in the footsteps of Cameroonian Samuel Eto'o who won it thrice between 2003 and 2005.

Toure told media that he felt 'lucky' to win it considering the size of the competition.

In the other awards given on the evening, Egyptian Mohamed Aboutreika won the award for best African player based on the continent. It was a good send off for the 35-year-old who announced his retirement from football at the end of last season.

Aboutreika beat off competition from compatriot Ahmed Fathy and Nigerian midfielder Sunday Mba.

It wasn't all gloom for Nigeria as their coach Stephen Keshi was named best coach and the Super Eagles won the award for Team of the Year.

Youngster Kelechi Iheanacho who led Nigeria to the Fifa U17 World Cup victory was named Promising Young Player while his team was named the Youth Team of the Year.

Four Nigerians also made it into CAF Team of the Year.

The Full Awards
National Team of the Year
Youth National Team of the Year
Nigeria U17
Club of the Year
Al Ahly
Fair Play Award
Nigeria Supporters Club
Referee of the Year
Djamel Haimoudi (Algeria)
Most Promising Talent
Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria U17)
Coach of the Year
Stephen Keshi (Nigeria)
African XI:
Enyeama; Fathy, Benatia, Constant, Mikel, Yaya, Aboutreika, Pitroipa, Emenike, Gyan, Aubameyang
Coach: Keshi
African Player of the Year (Africa-based)
Mohamed Aboutreika (Egypt)
African Player of the Year
Yaya Toure (Cote D’Ivoire)
CAF Legend Award
Bruno Metsu
Jose Mehdi Faria
Post a Comment